JPS Visual Week In Review ~ 01.27.24

 

 

This week was filled with minor annoyances and frustrations.

I cracked my phone screen (not horrible, still usable, but imperfect again)

My job changes different security settings on our system, so I can’t access even some “regular” websites on my work laptop, including my personal email and some filesharing sites. This may be common with many companies, but I’ve been immune to this for a number of years. And while I get it from tech/IT safety side…it’s just makes my life a little less seamless.

On the flip side, as I jumped onto a Zoom call at work, I noticed a name on there of someone I worked on a big project with (same company) about 14 years ago. It was great to catch up with her again and see  our paths cross once again. The catch-up continued on a Teams chat after the work call. Found out we now both live in the same town and those little babies we were aligned with 14 years ago are now teenagers!!

And, we had three nights of foggy day and nights, making me feel like I was existing in a Dashiell Hammett/Sam Spade story, which dovetailed nicely into one of my “What I Watched” selections, below.

So, you take the good with the bad and that’s life.

__________________________

This Week’s Links:

What I’m Reading This Week: I tried to get into Dave Eggers’ You Shall Know Us By Our Velocity, but I’m jumped out after 80 pages. Started The Invisible Boarder and Subway: The Tracks That Build New York City

What I Watched This Week: Apparently, I’m getting into a series of series’: Monsieur Spade (AMC+); Expats (Prime Video); Masters Of The Air (Apple+); True Detective S4E2

Favorite Photo Of The Week: Take A Seat via @d_rebz at Princeton University.

SIghed: Game Over At Sports Illustrated via Joe McNally’s Blog

Phil Loach: New Exhibition Celebrates The Work of A Newspaper Photographer, via BBC

Arlene’s Unboxing: Gritty photos of NYC in the ’70s and ’80s shot by Arlene Gottfried via NY times

Landscaper: Dawoud Bey turns to landscape photography via Washington Post

Stages: I’m teetering between Depression and Acceptance right now, via Ellis Rosen

From the JSP Archives:  14 years ago, around this time, I was saying goodbye to Japan

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2024

Instagram |X | LinkTree

Leave a comment