New Tear Sheet: Letters To You – The Stone Pony Turns 50

 

Wanted to share some new work I shot last week for the Letters To You website. Find it here.

The iconic Stone Pony  in Asbury Park is celebrating it’s 50th Anniversary this year. It was 50 years ago last week – February 8 – that the doors to this iconic venue opened for the first time.

I headed there last Thursday evening for Stone Pony Day across the state. It was very cool to see this little seaside bar, the cornerstone of musical history in Asbury Park, feted as it was with proclamations, celebrations and cool-looking (and tasting) cupcakes, too! I was really happy Shawn at LTY lead off the piece with my cupcakes photo. It certainly wasn’t a “throwaway” shot. As I entered the Pony and got my media credential, the cupcakes were there for the taking. I took…a couple of shots. As a photojournalist, I shooting as much as I can to tell the story, entire to detail. And to cupcakes.

Anyway, local & county dignitaries were on hand, as was original Stone Pony owner, Jack Roig,  current general manager Caroline O’Toole, and original house DJ, Lee Mrowicki (who opened his set by playing a classic Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes set from 1974 that, at that time, was aired live on 93 WMMR in Philly.

Then, on Saturday, as I talked about in my last Week In Review, more events and panels were held at the Pony, so I covered that as well. Even grabbed a quick portrait shot of Danny Clinch before he went on for his panel. One of the first times I met Danny was at his 2014 book signing there at The Stone Pony. I still look through his book a lot for inspiration.

Photographer Danny Clinch

Great to see my photos accompanying the cool piece by the writer, Lisa Iannucci.

I’ll be back at the Pony this Friday and Saturday night, shooting the Asbury Jukes, as they help to continue the anniversary celebration.

And, who knows…other special guests may show up as well.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2024

Instagram | X | LinkTree

 

Leave a comment