JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 04.13.24

 

Another short one this week, folks,

The last couple of weeks have been extremely off the normal track for me.

It’s been a lot, that’s all I’d like to say right now.

Hopefully, things are back on upswing, but only time will tell.

But, because of all this, my normal daily routine has been challenged.

I’m not shoot too much, not doing the reading that I normally do.

Just trying to keep it all going.

I think, because of everything going on in the personal side of my life, I was really underwhelmed by the eclipse last Monday.

Also, it was cloudy where I was in New Jersey, so I really didn’t get the full effect.

I got some dimming, but that was about it.

I don’t know…I just didn’t get into the whole thing.  At least not this time around.

I’m glad people enjoyed it, and there was some community building, it seems, around it.

And I did see some cool photos, including one by my friend, Saed (linked below).

But we’re heading into a new week, let’s keep our hearts open and our fingers crossed for good things.

______________________

This Week’s Links:

What I Read This Week: I finished up T.C. Boyle’s book of short stories, Without A Hero and started in on James Ellroy’s The Enchanters.

What I Watched This Week: I finished up Ripley on Netflix. A very strong, solid 9/10. Loved it. Even if you don’t get into the story, watch it for the stunning visuals. It’s gorgeously, lusciously shot in B&W. I want to find out all I can on the processing.

What I Listened to This Week: Over on the On Taking Pictures podcast, Bill Wadman and Jeffery Saddoris discuss the Dan Winters Photographers episode. First, give that episode a watch if you haven’t. Then give this ‘cast a listen. Both are very interesting.

Favorite Photo of The Week: Via @throughthecameraeye (Saed Hindash) on IG. (What a week for photojournalistic week for Saed – this past week, he shot the eclipse, a Trump political rally, two high school plays and a softball game. And he shot them all well!

Look! Up In The Air! Joe McNally’s blog piece on Excitement In The Skies

From The JSP Archives: Back on April 12, 2011, I was writing about meeting an incredible doctor, Catherine Hamlin, in Addis Ababa, and and shining a light.

Have a good week, all. It’s getting warmer here in NJ, should be mid-60s or above all week. Feels like Spring is…springing to life.

 

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2024

Instagram | X | LinkTree

Leave a comment