At 54

At 54

 

I know. I haven’t been posting a lot lately, and when I do, it a self portrait.

To commemorate my birthday, no less.

My 54th birthday.

Yes, I made it around the sun again.

My 53rd year wasn’t great.

A lot of good times, yes.

With my kids. With my dogs. With my mom and a few others.

But…a lot angst, worry, sadness…

People I thought were friends were, uh, busy when I needed them.

Honestly, that’s fine. I’m more of a loner anyway.

An “introverted extrovert” as they like to say on some of the dating sites I’ve tried out.

(No, it hasn’t been going well. It’s a novelty to me. Window shopping. I ain’t meeting anyone that way, I already know it.)

Anyway, this is  just a proof-of-life shot, taken today, on my balcony, with my phone.

Just to say I’m still here.

And I’m doing very well now. All that stuff that happened in the 53rd year, is pretty much flushed.

I’m happy and healthy and feeling great and creative and motivated.

For the most part.

Still here.

At 54.

(And, thanks Mom, for doing all the work 54 years ago…at 8:44 p.m.)

 

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2024

Instagram | X | LinkTree

2 thoughts on “At 54

  1. Some introspection on the porch. Not gonna fault you on the iphone approach. Sometimes, the words are more important and the photo, as you say, is just a proof of life. Milestones. Time and moments, committed to memory instantly, thankfully, because moments, by definition, don’t stick around. Just think K-Man, at age 54, you’re only ten years away from the Beatles lyric, “Will you still need me, will you still feed me, when I’m 64?” Me, I’m a year on from another lyric, this one from Simon and Garfunkel, aka, The Long Island Hardy Boys….”How terribly strange to be seventy.”

    FYI, my ex wife didn’t like me cracking my knuckles and would exclaim, “You won’t be able to use your hands when you’re 80 and I won’t feed you!” Well that was never gonna happen anyway.

    Hang in K-Man!

Leave a comment