Looking Back: A Camera…and the Lincoln Tunnel

Share

[Note: This post contains an embedded video. If you are an email subscriber, click here to go to view the on-line post and the video.]

Geez, 2009 is racing to it’s end. Posting this on Tuesday, the 29th, and only 2 more days left in this year, aye, this decade. More on that in a bit….

Back home in New Jersey now. It’s been colder than the ass-crack of polar bear these last couple of days, especially since the last 24 hours was spent up in the hills of Northeast Pennsylvania, where I grew up. My parents are still up there, at the base of the mountains, and my sister and her brood were visiting from Edmonton. Yes, Alberta, Canada. They thought it was tropical.

Larger, On Black.

Not me. Thought it was damn cold, especially when I was walking the dogs last night and this morning. Wind whipping, snow flurries blowing. I Shot the above image in March 2008, but kinda gives you an inkling of what’s going on up there. Not much, as is.

Looking back, I really liked growing up there. But couldn’t imagine earning a living up there. My Pop spent 36 years behind the wall of the State Correctional Institution of Dallas, PA – as a Corrections Officer, not a resident, mind you. Not sure what I would have done for 30-odd years up in this part of Pennsylvania. Maybe I’ll retire up there sometime. A house on the shores of Haveys Lake. It’s God’s Country. Who knows.

Anyway, had a great couple of days seeing my parents, reconnecting with my sister and her kids (including my godson). Despite my camera snafus, chronicled on Twitter (@MarkKrajnak), I still had a great time. Told them all about my recent world travels. No secret..this kid from a tiny town in PA never expected in a lifetime to shoot photos in heart of Red Square, Moscow, or walk through the Thieves Bazaar in Bombay, India. It’s an odd and interesting life for sure. And the camera takes us there.

Looking back today..another first for me. When, back in April, I had the opportunity to hike into the depths of the Lincoln Tunnel to shoot the Lincoln Tunnel Challenge 5K run. It was a very cool event to cover and I really liked being able to produce some unique images for the New Jersey Special Olympics. Here’s the video recap that you may remember:

I was especially happy when one of my images appeared in an issue of New Jersey Monthly. A great event to cover, and a tear sheet for good measure!

© Mark V. Krajnak 2009 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 20D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS2 or PSE6 and Nik Software.

4 thoughts on “Looking Back: A Camera…and the Lincoln Tunnel

  1. Great Post Mark and I understand how your Sis feels about the tropical part. Diane is from Calgary so I love to talk to her family and mention it is raining instead of snowing or below zero. I am liking the trip thru your adventures from the year.

  2. Kman…nice post…those tearsheets do keep ya going, right? Cold as bejeesus lately for sure, but I’ll keep Drew. His tan wasn’t that pronounced. Head to Fla. next week, then to San Fran, LA, San Diego, home, and then Malaysia….sure hope this year don’t beat the snot outta me like last one did….best for 2010 dude!

    Joe

  3. Pingback: JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 12.28.19 | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a comment