JPS Visual Week In Review ~ 11.14.20

The twists and turns this 2020 has taken have been truly unprecedented.

Day to day, week to week, it’s enough to make your head spin.

Last Saturday, I rolled into Asbury Park and parked in my usual spot on Grand Ave. Nervous, but ready to shoot my first wedding (more on that to come).

I was hearing horns honking on and cowbells ringing in town. Turns out, the election was just called in Joe Biden’s favor.

A nation – well, the majority of them – seemed to breathe a collective sigh of relief.

Of course, things can’t go smoothly in this country any more, and the past week has been yet again filled with pettiness, vindictiveness, violence, not to mention a stop at the Four Seasons Landscaping Company.

I don’t know, maybe we never get out of this mire. Maybe this mire is what life is now.

It doesn’t have to be. Life is what we make it, as they say.  It’s up to us to keep creating art to keep peoples brains free and clear. To give them something to smile about, to give them a just a little break from the norm.

It was fun shooting the wedding – happy people on a happy day in Little Eden. I liked the editing. I also liked with with a friend of mine.

I also dropped prints off to three sets of people. They didn’t order them, they didn’t pay me for them. I just make prints because I wanted to and because I thought they’d like them.

They did. Smiles galore.

Just a little break from the norm.

Get out there, keep getting it done. Don’t get stuck in the mire.

________________

This Week’s Links: 

What I Read This Week: I finally finished both the books I was pulling along these last few week, and started a couple of new one: Ruined City and A Bouquet of Bullets 

What I Watched This Week: Barbed Wire (don’t judge me)

JSP Archive: Diwali started  yesterday. I was in Mumbai in 2009 at the start of it then. Here’s my remembrance.

Digital Camera World: Self-publishing is the way forward

Monroe Gallery: Tony Vaccaro at 98

The Guardian: Elliot Erwin interview

NOLA News: The King of Indiscreet

Todd Owyoung: Advice and inspiration for photographers in the time of COVID

Austin Kleon: John Waters on Art

Watch: Adorama’s Daniel Norton dramatically lights two subjects.

“Without my photography life would be boring. Photography adds an extra dimension to my life. Somehow it confirms my place in the world.” ~ Rennie Ellis (November 11,1940 – August 19, 2003)

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2020

Instagram | Twitter | LinkTree

Leave a comment