JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 05.29.21

Here we are! Memorial Day Weekend here in the United States.

The unofficial start of summer.

And there’s rain pinging off the grill.

And the pool water is super chilly.

And any baseball activities are rained out.

But, things are opening up here in New Jersey. Our mask mandates are coming down and restaurants, bars and venues are opening up.

To be honest, not sure how I feel about that. I’m full vaxxed so feel protected. But there are still so many people potentially still at risk. Are we headed for a new spike or, because of all of our cases and vaccinations, are we attaining herd immunity? I hate to see what is still going on in India and some other places.

It ain’t over, folks.

That said, I’m looking forward to shooting shows again this summer, though I may steer more towards smaller venues that are outside. At least until I see how things are going.

The next few months looks to be a time of change in a lot of ways. Going to be a lot of swimming against the tide, still.

There’s photos to be made and prints to be taken.

Hang tight!

_____________________

This Week’s Links:

What I Read This Week: Ugh, still working through Barrier Island and The Deadly Mystery of the Missing Diamonds. Both have been slogs, I’m ready to pull the eject button.

What I Watched This Week: The ABC Murders, an adaptation of an Agatha Christie novel I read a few months ago, with John Malkovich as the Belgian detective and the actor who placed Ron Weasley in all those Harry Potter films.

What I Listened To This Week: The Plot Thickens. I’m super late to this podcast with Ben Mankiewitz and Peter Bogdanovich but started in on it this week. I find it really interesting.

Rangefinder: Could using a hashtag give a company rights to your photos?

Outside Magazine: A photographer’s mission to capture America’s last, great, rest stops.

Joe McNally: A Portrait In Time

Down Under: The Mavis Phillips Archives

Shifter Media (Dan Milnor): Vantage Point, Personal Projects by Veterans

Favorite Photo of the Week: via Roger Sieber

RIP: If you’re a reader to small kids, you may have read Chicka Chicka Boom Boom and The Very Hungry Caterpillar hundreds of time, like I did. CCBB Illustrator, Lisa Ehlert, passed this week, as did Eric Carle, creator of that hungry caterpillar.

From The Archive: Memorial Day 2018 in a Small NJ Town

“One should really use the camera as though tomorrow you’d be stricken blind. To live a visual life is an enormous undertaking, practically unattainable. I have only touched it, just touched it.”Dorothea Lange (May 26, 1895 – October 11, 1965)

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2021

Instagram | Twitter | LinkTree

Leave a comment