On Stage: Sunday In Park With George

 

A couple of weeks ago, I was commissioned to head down to the Axelrod Theater to shoot the last dress rehearsal of Stephen Sondheim’s and James Lapine’s Pulitzer Prize-winning musical SUNDAY IN THE PARK WITH GEORGE

This version, starring Graham Phillips (TV’s The Good Wife and Riverdale) and Talia Suskauer (Broadway’s Wicked, up until just this past December, where she played Elphaba) and directed/choreographed by Eamon Foley, was an explosion of color and music and dance.

Graham Phillips and Talia Suskauer

As with many of the show that I shoot at the Axelrod, it was a pleasure to shoot – the lighting and sets were amazing. All I had to do was get in position and be ready for the unexpected…like this.

This was a lucky get, which is why it isn’t tack sharp. I was getting in position for the next shoot when I saw this develop while looking through my viewfinder. Snapped at the right time. I don’t know if there was another jump like this in the rest of the show – at least none that I caught.

As you can see, the color and light was phenomenal. Really amazing. In spite of that – or maybe because of that that – I shot some in B&W and really like these as well.

 

Via the Axelrod YouTube channel, here’s a wonderful sizzle reel of the musical. A really fantastic production.

 

Full Cast

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2024

Instagram | X | LinkTree

Leave a comment