JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 03.23.24

 

This month of March feels like it’s flying by, doesn’t it?

For as long as February seemed to take, March is riding on the fast rail for me.

Busy week coming up – Baseball, for my boys and the Major Leagues, shifts into full swing this week. My guys have been having practices and scrimmages the last couple of weeks but this week they really kick into gear.

I recently shot a fun project for my son Matt’s 12 year old team – will post about that very soon. Still putting the finishing touches on it, which I hope to close out this week.

But, you’ll be seeing more baseball photos in those little squares above, probably. I’ve shifted my Spring workouts a bit, opting for more intensity (indoor bike and treadmill runs) so that’s why there are less nature photos in the photos – I’m not doing those types of morning walks these last couple of weeks. So, in actuality, shooting less than I had.

But, sometimes there’s a tradeoff in life. One thing for another, for whatever reason – good, bad or indifferent.

I’m missing my walks in the woods but I have other fitness goals in mind right now and I need to buckle it down indoors for a few weeks.

No matter, I’m out “doing the roadwork” – looking at artists and photographers, reading which gives me inspiration, touching base with friends of mine.

How about you? What’s keeping you busy recently?

__________________________

This Week’s Links:

What I’m Reading This Week: I finished up a 1950s crime novel, A Hostage For A Hood. Solid pulp fiction, though it ties up too neatly at the end. Started in on Double Click: Twin Photographers In The Golden Age of Magazines and also Still Pictures: On Photographer and Memory, by Janet Malcolm. Primary attention, though, has been on Quintin Tarantino’s first novel, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood. I love the film and the novel just gives all that much more depth to the characters.

What I Watched This Week: Le Samaouri

And also: Photographer  (well, I watched two – the Dan Winters one and the one on Krystal Wright. Want to watch the others before I really provide comment)

Dan In Winter: A bittersweet portrait of a photographer, obsessed, via Texas Observer

What I Listened To This Week: The Disgracelandpod on Steve McQueen 

Favorite Lines I Read This Week: “The glitter of memory may be no less deceptive. The past is a country that issues no visas. We can only enter it illegally.” ~ Janet Malcolm

Favorite Photo I Saw This Week: Bradley Cooper singin’ on a C-Stand, via Mary Ellen Matthews

Favorite Pulitzer-Prize Winning Poet I Met This Week: Paul Muldoon, at an music/spoken word event at Princeton University this week. “Does my hair look ok?” he asked when I sheepishly asked for a photo.

Sharpness: Watch Sean Tuck talk to Phil Sharp about creating headshots with character

And… Action: A Poster Museum Where Films Began, In New Jersey ~ via Daily Heller

Trapped: Why Building On Someone Else’s Platform is dead via Joan Westenberg

Dining Out: The Dinner Party That Started The Harlem Renaissance via NY Times

This: “Because we don’t know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well. Yet everything happens a certain number of times, and a very small number, really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, some afternoon that’s so deeply a part of your being that you can’t even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four or five times more. Perhaps not even. How many more times will you watch the full moon rise? Perhaps twenty. And yet it all seems limitless.” ~ Paul Bowles

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2024

Instagram | X | LinkTree

Leave a comment