JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 08.28.21

I spent the last week on vacation from the day job.

Unlike the “vacation” in June – where I spent moving in my new apartment – this was an actual vacation.

Monday and Tuesday, I messed around, didn’t do anything special.

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, I took the kids down to Stevensville, Maryland, on the banks of the Chesapeake Bay. Man, that was fun.

If you remember, I ventured down to Annapolis back in July to shoot the Let’s Go Music Festival. My first time down there. As I was driving back over the Bay Bridge that weekend, I thought this may be a cool place to vacation.

So, that’s what I looked into. And it was a cool place to spend a few days.

Ate some crab cakes. Had the kids try oysters for the first time (Liv 0/10, Matt 0/10, Chase 7/10,  me 8/10). We swam in the Chesapeake Bay, learned some history, did some stand-up paddle boarding at National SUP, toured Annapolis.

It was some good time to see something new, experience new things.

We were predominantly outside, but masked up when inside restaurants or stores. Trying to be normal even though the pandemic is still raging.

We found out people in the hotel were quarantining. Not sure why, but no lie, it was as little scary.

I thought about changing hotels.

But we didn’t.

Thinking about getting tested later this week.

Anyway, since I’ve been back, I’ve been full-on editing wedding photos. Yes, odd as it may seem, this music/portrait/noir photographer shot two weddings last weekend, and has another one planned for next weekend.

Weird, I know.

Summer is winding down. The kids are preparing to go back to school – masked up here in New Jersey.

I have some photo projects on the beam. Outdoor concerts, too.

And fall baseball is getting started for my boys.

Life goes on. But not easily.

Get vaccinated. If not for yourself, for those you love around you.

Believe in the science, folks.

It’s safe. I can’t stress that enough.

Mask up.

____________________

What I Watched This Week: The Poison Rose

What I Read This Week: I finished The Graduate (film was waaaay better). Started Caper and The Queen’s Gambit by Walter Tevis, who also wrote The Hustler.

New Yorker: Chester Higgins: A Life in Pictures

Columbia Journalism Review: Could NFT’s help the media, or are they just a sideshow? (As an FYI, I hate the NFT craze)

Watch: Ant Pruitt’s Hands On Photography (YouTube): Using Constant Lighting

Watch: Dying in the Name of Vaccine Freedom

Watch: 8 Steps to Cinematic Lighting (good for photographers as well)

Spin Magazine: Pearl Jam’s 10 turns 30! (I was a late-comer to 10. I remember getting the cassette while in my senior year of college, liking it a lot, telling a buddy, and him saying to me “Dude, where HAVE you been?”)

Joe McNally: Tokyo Field Notes ~ What’s In The Bag

Favorite Photo of the Week: Via Connie Freestone.

RIP: Charlie Watts, drummer for The Rolling Stones. I’m not a huge Stones fan, but I understand the dramatics of this. Tour photographer’s unseen snaps

RIP: Ed Asner

Hang in there, everyone. Summer is start to rolling up its gates, but it ain’t done yet. Get out there and see some things.

Please mask up…again…still…and get vaxxed.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2021

Instagram | Twitter | LinkTree

Leave a comment