JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 03.19.22

For some reason this week, twice, I’ve seen people posting on Twitter something to the effect of “What advice to you have to live your best life?” or something to that effect.

For me, it’s pretty simple: Treat others the way you’d like to be treated.

If I remember that, things seem to be ok. I live better. I’m at better piece.

When my ex and I first got separated, it was rough. There was anger and hostility when we’d talk.

But I made a conscious effort to change my tone and my demeanor. I realized the way I was treating her wasn’t good and wouldn’t benefit anyone. So, I started changed. And things are better, much better, when we see each other or speak.

We aren’t getting back together, but we our interactions aren’t adversarial now either. Because I made an effort to change.

And, my life is better for it.

I have a t-shirt that says: Be A Good Human. 

Easy to put on a t-shirt, sometimes hard to do. But I try to keep it in mind.

Know who wasn’t a good human? The actor, William Hurt, who just passed away.

Yes, I like Body Heat and a couple other of his films. But I’ll never watch them the same way again after learning about what an abuser he was. Just Google it to find out more. What piece of trash he was. And no, I can’t separate the person from his art, as someone on my Facebook page said I should.

There’s a special place in hell for people like him. Good riddance.

Anyway….ends my out-of-left-field rant.

Speaking of left field, my boys’ baseball season started this past week with a couple of practices and scrimmages. They are playing on four teams (two a piece) and I’m coaching three of the teams. I put all games and practices on my calendar and notice that I think I have one free day in April (excluding Easter Sunday) and one in May. Lots going on till at least mid-June!

Just the way I like it.

__________________________________________

This Week’s Links

What I Read This Week: I picked up an old copy of Peyton Place for $1 in Lambertville, NJ, last weekend. Started it this week. Liking it already.

What I Watched This Week: RoadRunner – A film about Anthony Bourdain. It was really great, but super sad. Man, I miss him and his perspective. His demons, though, were there.

Joe McNally: There’s A Place For Us (Once again, the elegance of Joe’s written prose nearly outshines the wonderful photos. Take a few minutes and read this blog. Stellar.)

Photofocus: Featured: Joe McNally

NY Times: A Killing Stone Broke in Japan. Is a Demon On The Loose? (nope, didn’t have this on my ‘crap that can happen in 2022’ bingo card)

New Yorker: Have iPhone Cameras Become Too Smart?

Listen: The Story Behind A Defining War Photo with Lynsey Addario

Listen: Gregory Heisler at the Palm Springs Photo Festival

Chase Jarvis: Managing Burn-Out with Your 9-5

Farewell: To an icon, Charles E. Entenmann (What’s your favorite Entenmann? I gotta go with the crumb cake)

“I am part of all that I have met” ~ Alfred Lord Tennyson

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2022

Instagram | Twitter | LinkTree

2 thoughts on “JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 03.19.22

  1. Love the writing here, Mark. Easy to put on a t-shirt…… yep, harder to change, for real. But you’re doing it, and that’s a beautiful turn of the corner in life. And yes, I’ll go with the crumbcake as well. And, the boys! Pitchers and catchers report! The hint of spring is in the air, and I can’t wait to hear the crack of a bat….best, and thanks as always for the shout out on my blog….Joe

Leave a comment