JSP Visual Week In Review ~ 01.18.20

JSP Visual Week In Review_011819

Third week in, how we looking?

This was a weird week for me. I’ve been a bit sedate. Maybe it’s the post-holiday, winter blues.

Not blue, exactly, but my motivation flagged this week.

The Light of Day Foundation has a ton of things going on in Asbury Park this weekend. It’s a great time down in AP to hear a lot of wonderful bands and musicians.

I feel like I should be down in the middle of it all.

In the past, I’ve shot a a few of the shows (never the super big bash that is tonight). And, thanks to Backstreets.com, I have a photo pass waiting more me (for everything except the big bash tonight).

But I haven’t even picked it up yet. I passed on shooting a show Thursday evening. And I passed on shooting a big one last evening (though not as big as the big bash tonight).

Have to admit, I think it’s because a bit of an overload. There will be SO many cameras out and about in AP this weekend, I just don’t feel like being in the cast of thousands.

I certainly don’t need to be the only one shooting an event. While it’s nice, it’s not really applicable, especially for a music photographer around Asbury Park.

But, the venues are small and everyone is basically shooting the same thing. Nothing to really set you apart. But doesn’t that mean I shouldn’t try?

This week, I just felt more content to hang in the warm house with the family, help Leslie put the kids to bed, take a hot shower, watch some basketball, do some reading and getting to bed at a reasonable hour. (that reasonable hour part is a bit of a new year’s resolution for me.)

Still, there’s a nagging sense I’m missing something. That I should be out in the action and making some clicks, then “getting them out there.”

But, I didn’t. I haven’t.

There’s still a bunch going on. I can still pick up my credential and shoot some things on Sunday.

Still not sure if I will.

_____________________

This Week’s Links:

What I’m Reading: On The Waterfront. Interestingly, Budd Schulberg wrote the screenplay THEN the novel because he felt he wanted to build out the characters more.

What I Watched This Week: Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolfe? Pretty incredible cinematography here.

New Yorker: Covering three impeachment hearings (with a Speed Graphic). Cool read about my buddy David Burnett.

PhotoFocus: Color prints and the Environment

NY Times: In one photo, capturing the devastation of the Australian fires.

Adorama TV: David Bergman on DSLR or Mirrorless? 

Damn Ugly Photography (Brad Trent): Tiny Room Portraits.

Good watches: Behind The Shot on YouTube

“Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary.” ~ Cecil Beaton, who had a birthday this week.

“Never say you’re going back – SHOOT IT NOW!”Jay Maisel, who was born today, January 18, 1931)

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2020

Instagram | Twitter

Leave a comment